Bookshelf Talk: My Top 5 Fiction Reads for 2018

No comments

BOOKS! I love them. You love them. Everybody loves them. But there are so many and there is such little time.

So, how do you know what to pick?

Well, everybody has different taste. Mine lean more toward the contemporary and fantasy realms — since that’s what I’m into and that’s what I write. So if you’re like me, read on for my top five books to read (or listen to via audio book) in 2018, if nothing else.

P.S. — If you don’t read, it’s time to start. Put down your phone, device (I guess if you have a Kindle or whatever ignore this one), or remote and devote 30 minutes per day to reading or listening to a book. The imagination is a wild place and should be explored daily.


#1 The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

9780575081406

The Name of the Wind is one of the best books I’ve read of late. Though a bit long-winded, Rothfuss is, to me, a bit like a modern Tolkien. This is the first book in his The Kingkiller Chronicle trilogy (the third book is not yet out, but the second book The Wise Man’s Fear was published in 2011) which follows the journey of the protagonist, Kvothe. The story is uniquely narrated by Kvothe at different points in his life both in present tense and third-person past.

If you like alchemy, elemental power, poetry, legends, and music — this is the series for you.


#2 Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

NorseMythology_Hardback_1473940163-770x1164.jpg

If you love Neil Gaiman and mythology, like I do, this is a fantastic pick. Gaiman reinvents Norse mythology (Think: Thor, Odin, Loki, etc.) with his own words and iconic voice.

Here is a quote from Gaiman’s Goodreads page about Norse Mythology:

“Gaiman fashions these primeval stories into a novelistic arc that begins with the genesis of the legendary nine worlds and delves into the exploits of deities, dwarfs, and giants. Through Gaiman’s deft and witty prose, these gods emerge with their fiercely competitive natures, their susceptibility to being duped and to duping others, and their tendency to let passion ignite their actions, making these long-ago myths breathe pungent life again.”

 


#3 A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

Darker

V. E. Schwab is a badass female writer. She is definitely a powerhouse and one to watch in the literary world.

A Darker Shade of Magic is the first in her two-part trilogy series. (That’s right: two sets of three books set in the same world.)

London as we know it is actually divided up into four different parallel timelines: Red, Grey, White, and Black. The story follows the journey of Delilah Bard and Prince Kell — both from different Londons — as their worlds collide. Full of adventure, drama, flare, villains, love — and of course, as the title promises, magic.


#4 Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

childrenofbloodandbone_tomiadeyemi__span.jpg

Children of Blood and Bone is one of the most anticipated books of the year. I am so excited to attend the Shady Ladies Literary Society event at MOCAD in Detroit on March 17, 2018 to meet her and hear her speak about her writing journey. She is a first-time author, Harvard grad, Pitch Wars alumni — and a movie deal already in the works. You can pick up a copy of Children of Blood and Bone, here. 

Here is a quote from Adyemi’s Goodreads page on Children of Blood and Bone:

“Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.”


#5 Tales of Earthsea by Ursula K. LeGuin

9780739452714_p0_v1_s260x420.JPG

Given that Ursula K. Le Guin just passed away early this year, I find it fitting to read her Earthsea Trilogy now. I discovered her in late in 2017 and was disappointed that I had not heard of her before.

She is one of the most concise writers I have ever read — each book in the trilogy is only about 140 pages. Yet, she manages to mold an entire world into each story. Wizards, alchemists, ancient magic, dragons, monsters, and more are all intertwined in these fantastic tales.

Though Le Guin won many awards in her time, I still think she is vastly underrated. In my opinion, she is one of the best female authors of all time and The Earthsea Trilogy is worth a read.

 


What are your most favorite books? I can never pick just one!

xx

cropped-signature.png

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s